Meet My New Friend, Kohlrabi

DSC03826DSC03828

One thing that I value about writing this blog is that it gives me courage to try new things.

With that being said, I’ve been walking through the produce aisle these last few months, and believe I saw a new vegetable winking at me. I couldn’t help but notice it. It seemed to say; I can’t make up my mind if I’m a greens, a root, or someone’s idea of a science experiment, but go ahead and try me, I’m (kind of) local, affordable, and I don’t need to be checked for bugs.

You wouldn’t think that at this stage of the culinary game, I would be so tentative, but I guess there is always reticence when it comes to experimenting.

Deciding to take a chance, into the basket it went.

When I got home and looked through some books to see how to prepare it, I read that some put it in soup, and some cook it (steamed or roasted), but the idea that was most appealing to me was using it in a salad, raw.

Although it was difficult to cut away the green leaves and not use them (someone out there, if you do cook kohlrabi greens, please let me know), all that remained was to peel and we were off to the races.

Into the food processor using the large shredding disc, along with a carrot, tossing it with a creamy dressing, and voila, kohlrabi cole slaw.

This vegetable, a member of the Brassica family, (which also includes cauliflower, broccoli and cabbage) is rich in vitamin C and minerals, and makes a welcome addition to our, occasionally monotonous, winter vegetable repertoire.

Do give it a try, and, if you see me in the supermarket aisles having conversations with the produce, feel free to interrupt.

Kohlrabi Slaw
serves 8
1 bunch kohlrabi, (about 2 pounds) leaves and stems removed and peeled
2 carrots, peeled
½ cup mayonnaise
2 Tablespoons white vinegar
2 Tablespoons sugar
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon pepper
a little water

Shred the kohlrabi and carrots using the large shredding disc of your food processor.
Mix all the dressing ingredients together and toss with the shredded vegetables.

Remember to register for Mashgiach @ Home, a 3 part series, Tuesdays Feb. 12, 19 and 26 at 8 pm taught by Rabbi Heber, COR’s Director of Community. Use the following link to see the details.

http://cor.ca/assets/static/node/201301/files/427/moshgiach%20at%20home%20poster.pdf

Shabbat Shalom,
Nancy Weisbrod, Director of Culinary Education, Kashruth Council of Canada

Leave a Reply

