The Meat Locker

Beef Blade Minute SteaksBeef Blade Minute Steaks after tenderizing
Last night we finished the second of the two part series, Beef PhD.

I personally found researching this class fascinating. Armed with several roasts and a variety of beef cuts from Toronto’s finest butchers, I sat down with my brother Paul who has been a ‘meat man’ his whole life. Growing up in the meat business, you would think that alot of this would already make sense to me, but I can tell you that ever since I became kosher, over 25 years ago, meat has been more of a mystery than ever.

We began by looking at the anatomy of a cow, identifying what’s kosher, and then proceeded to identify where those cuts come from on the animal. This helped me understand which cooking procedures benefit which cuts, and even more, how to get better value.

Let me say that there is a big variety in price, quality and butchering between the retailers and if anyone would like to take this conversation offline I would be happy to share my findings.

I would like to thank the dedicated students who have supported my teaching in the Beef PhD class, and indeed, the whole year’s curriculum. You each have made an impact on My Kosher Kitchen @ COR and it has been a delightful experience. I look forward to begin planning classes for the upcoming year, and if you have any suggestions, please send them along.

Next week will be my last blog before I head up to Camp, in Northern Ontario, to teach cooking to several hundred campers. I am really looking forward to this challenge and appreciate the opportunity to teach cooking skills to a variety of ages.

I am including a recipe (note the addition of kiwi puree used for its tenderizing characteristic) for a beef marinade in which a Beef Blade London Broil was marinated. After which, I cut some thin slices, threaded them on skewers and grilled them. Browning the remaining meat, finishing it off in the oven, and slicing it created a beautiful dish especially served with an Oriental cabbage salad. Also note, the picture above demonstrates another tenderizing technique of hitting the meat with a pounder. This method also breaks down the tough connective tissue that can make meat chewy.

Let’s change the world one recipe at a time,

Nancy Weisbrod, Director of Culinary Education, Kashruth Council of Canada

Korean Style Grilled Beef (Marc Matsumoto)
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup orange juice
3 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons pureed kiwifruit (about 1/2 kiwifruit)
1 tablespoon sesame oil
2 teaspoons grated ginger
3 large cloves garlic, minced
Add the soy sauce, orange juice, honey, kiwifruit, sesame oil, ginger, garlic and scallions to a Ziploc bag. Seal the bag and mix until all the ingredients are combined. Add the beef to the bag and marinate for at least one day.
Grill the beef over medium high heat. If the fire is too hot, the beef will burn because of the sugars in the marinade. If you don’t have a grill you can also do this in a broiler or a hot cast iron skillet with some oil.

Leave a Reply

