My Kosher Kitchen @ COR first Field Trip and Packing up for the Summer

Dear Fellow Cooks,

This will be my last entry before I head to the wilds of Northern Ontario for the summer to teach kosher cooking to campers of all ages. It is a very exciting opportunity because I am very motivated to teach young people to cook. In my experience, many young people don’t how to cook, and even worse, don’t feel confident or comfortable in the kitchen. I can’t wait to get in there, roll up my sleeves and get to work.

I know many of you heartily agree about the importance of home cooking and how it helps strengthen families in so many ways, but dare I say that we’ve gone off the rails a tad when it comes to transmitting these culinary skills? Cooks aren’t born cooking you know. We become educated by knowledge, experience and the greatest teacher; trial and error.

I know, at times, I forget this. I want instant, picture-perfect results. I believe, at times, mistaken notions have resulted from over-reliance on recipes, especially the exciting ones with colour pictures that promise oh-so-easy instructions, that can leave some of us in tears of frustation with scorched dreams. (There is a recipe for kettle popcorn in a new kosher cookbook that resulted in disaster for a dear, young ‘cook of my heart’.) It’s only after becoming a seasoned cook that you can have a sporting chance of navigating the shoals and rocks of recipe integrity. Good recipes provide a map, but can only promise success once we’ve learned to master basic cooking skills.

Which brings us to the next point.

In planning next year’s calendar for My Kosher Kitchen @ COR, I realized that in addition to the core courses, I would like to try and organize something new, something that really builds our culinary knowledge. And realizing there is definite strength in numbers, I think that if we unify as a group, we should benefit. In our time together, let’s not only learn new culinary techniques, but really reap rewards.

Tuesday August 27th, in the morning, I am arranging to purchase a whole tuna from King of Fish, (Chabad Gate Plaza). We will have the incredible experience of seeing this majestic fish whole, and benefit from the freshest purchase to wrap it up and have in our freezer for our super-early, three day yomtovs.

I have been given a price of approximately $15/pound (compared with the usual price of around $23/pound) because we will be taking the whole fish. Since the fish, after its cleaned and trimmed is still between 100-120 pounds, we need 10 people to commit to taking 10 pounds each. There will be a $36 registration fee and we will also learn a few recipes to feature this delicious, lean delicacy. So if one of your goals for the new year is not to gain 5 pounds after each Yomtov, and you are interested in participating in this unique opportunity, please reserve your spot with me asap.

Here are the class details:
What: My Kosher Kitchen @ COR first Field Trip to The King of Fish
When: Tuesday August 27th 10:00 – 11:30 am (time to be confirmed)
Where: The King of Fish, 7241 Bathurst St.
Cost: $36 + 10 pounds of tuna x $15=$150 (approximately). Your tuna will be cut to portion and wrapped for the freezer.
How to register: Call Nancy at 416-902-9995 or email nweisbrod@cor.ca
Maximum #: 10
Registration closes: Friday June 14th
Wishing you a safe, healthy and fun summer.

Let’s continue to change the world one recipe at a time,

Nancy Weisbrod, Director of Culinary Education, Kashruth Council of Canada

Leave a Reply

